This guide is for Clover users with an existing Thrive Inventory by Shopventory account who have been given a new Merchant ID (MID).

Usually, a new MID is issued when purchasing new Clover hardware or switching banks/processors.


Before beginning...

  • The MID is Thrive's point of connection to your Clover account. As far as Thrive is concerned, your new MID is a brand-new store/integration.

  • Sales info will be pulled in from the new Clover, but sales that took place on the OLD Clover will be lost when the old Clover is disconnected.

  • We strongly recommend downloading all relevant sales and inventory reports and data from Thrive as well as Clover before continuing.


The Process

To copy your inventory to a new MID in Thrive, carefully follow all of these steps in order (many of these steps are irreversible). Click on the links if you're not sure how to complete a step:

  1. Ensure that your new Clover account is empty of all products, categories, and tax rates. It may not be, even if you haven't accessed the account yet yourself.

    1. NOTE: Sometimes Clover will "copy" your inventory from your old MID to your new one. Those "copies" of your products WILL create duplicates in Thrive, so the new MID will need to be completely empty before continuing.

  2. From your Locations and Integrations page, click on the Integration name you are replacing and add "OLD" to the title. This will help keep the new and old MIDs clear for you and anyone helping you.

  3. Click on the Location name where you want to connect the new Clover MID, and use the button to "Connect a merchant account..." on the right.

  4. When prompted, select "Yes" to import (there shouldn't be any data to import, this is just a formality) and "Yes" to real-time sync.

  5. Export your inventory from the Location to the new Clover MID.

  6. Ensure that your inventory has synced to the new Clover MID.

  7. Contact Thrive to disconnect the "OLD" Clover MID.

You may choose to leave your OLD integration connected to Thrive for a time in order to continue accessing old sales reports. This will be treated and billed as a separate integration in Thrive.

Overall, we recommend deleting it after you've downloaded the reports you need.


Related Articles

Still have questions? We are here to help!

Start a chat with us by clicking the chat bubble at the bottom-right of this page.

Did this answer your question?