Shopventory Stocktakes allow you to update the quantities for multiple items at once, see any discrepancies, and keep a clear record of that specific count—both before and after. Once you’ve entered your updates, simply Request Approval, and a manager will be able to review the count, request changes, or approve the Stocktake to finalize the counts.

Creating a Stocktake

To begin a stock-take, simply go to the Stocktakes page in Shopventory:

Click on the Create Stocktake button to get started:

Every Stocktake starts as a draft. Just fill in the fields across the top to get started: 

  • Every Stocktake can have its own Stocktake number. 
  • Select the Location for the Stocktake 
  • The Reason can be either Reconciliation or Other.
  • Finally, the Notes field is optional, but we strongly recommend adding a note for easy reference in the future.

Next, click the Add Products button to select what you're going to be adding to the Stocktake.

Just select the products you want to update to add them to the Stocktake. 

Go through and update the quantities to the current count. You can also add an individual note on each product you're updating.

Once you're done, hit the Save button at the top to save the draft. The draft will now appear in the main Stocktakes page: 

Edit / Cancel / Request Approval on a Stocktake

To take action on a Stocktake, just click on the Stocktake number from the main Stocktakes page. That will take you into that Stocktake. Once you're there, just click the blue Actions button at the top of the page:

From there, you can Edit, Cancel, or Request Approval. 

  • Edit: Allows you to make changes to the Stocktake.
  • Cancel Stocktake: This will mark the Stocktake as canceled. No further changes can be made, but canceled Stocktakes are still stored.
  • Request Approval: This will submit the Stocktake for approval. Only users who have the Manage Stocktakes permission will be able to approve the Stocktake and finalize the changes or send it back for further updates.

Approving a Stocktake

Once the Stocktake is awaiting approval, only users who have the Manage Stocktakes permission can approve the Stocktake. 

  • Open the Stocktake by clicking on the the Stocktake number. 
  • Once you're there, just click the blue Actions button at the top of the page:
  • Cancel Stocktake: This will mark the Stocktake as canceled. No further changes can be made, but canceled Stocktakes are still stored.
  • Approve & Complete: This will finalize the Stocktake as is. 
  • Request Modifications: This will reject the Stocktake, but keep it open and set the status to "Modifications Needed". We strongly recommend adding a note to let team members know the reason for the modification: 

Once the modifications are complete, Just repeat the process and use the Approve & Complete option to finalize the update and set the new product quantities.

Things to know:

  • Finalizing a Stocktake will overwrite the current inventory quantities. 
  • It is strongly recommended that Stocktakes be completed during off-hours to keep sales from interfering with product quantities.
  • Modifications can be requested multiple times.

Did this answer your question?