When connecting Shopify or Square integrations, a process called "mapping" is required. 

Mapping is simply choosing which integration corresponds to which location. Here is an example of a Square account with 4 stores mapping locations to a Thrive Inventory by Shopventory account:

Every location in Square or Shopify must be mapped to its own Thrive Inventory location. In the example above, Store A and Store B cannot be made to share a single Thrive Inventory location.

If there are not enough Thrive Inventory locations already created, you will have the option to create new locations when mapping.

Below is a Shopify user with 3 locations in Shopify mapping to a Thrive Inventory account with only one existing location:

"Location 1" in Thrive Inventory will have the "Eastwick" Shopify location mapped to it. The other two Thrive Inventory locations will be created as part of the mapping process. (Thrive Inventory locations can be re-named later on).

If you add a new location to your merchant account, you can add it to Thrive Inventory later. Go to your integration settings and click "Update location mapping" here:


Rules of Mapping for Square

You do not have to map all Square locations to Thrive Inventory. If you have more than one location mapped in Thrive Inventory, you can unmap a location in Thrive Inventory. To do that, head to your Settings>Location & Integrations and click on one of the Square sales channels. From there, you'll be able to see the other locations on the Square account (mapped and unmapped). Click the gear icon next to the location you are wanting to unmap and click the "Remove mapping" option.

If you only have one location mapped to Thrive Inventory, you will not see the "Remove mapping" option. If you are wanting to remove that Square, you'll need to disconnect it completely and reconnect it.

  • Note: By unmapping, this will deactivate your inventory sync with that location and remove all sales from Thrive Inventory. Further sales will also not be processed and this cannot be undone.

To unmap a location in Square, you will need to deactivate that location (on Square directly), as shown here.


Rules of Mapping for Shopify

The primary or default location in Shopify must be mapped. Any additionally created locations are optional.

If you have secondary locations in Thrive Inventory, you can unmap the location in Thrive Inventory. To do that, head to your Settings>Location & Integrations and click on one of the Shopify sales channels. From there, you'll be able to see the other locations on the Shopify account (mapped and unmapped). Click the gear icon next to the location you are wanting to unmap and click the "Remove mapping" option.

If you are trying to unmap the primary/default location in Shopify, you will not see the "Remove mapping" option. If you are wanting to remove the default Shopify, you can disconnect it completely or reconfigure your default location in Shopify directly.

  • Note: By unmapping, this will deactivate your inventory sync with that location and remove all sales from Thrive Inventory. Further sales will also not be processed and this cannot be undone.

To unmap a location in Shopify, more information can be found here on Shopify's Help Center, but here's the option you're looking for:


Related Articles

Still have questions? We are here to help!

Start a chat with us by clicking the chat bubble at the bottom-right of this page.

Did this answer your question?